Court of Divorce and Matrimonial Causes (R.S. N.B. 1927, c. 115).—This Court was established by a pre-Confederation statute which has continued in force to date. It has divorce jurisdiction only. There is one judge who is appointed by the Governor General in Council.

County Courts (R.S. N.B. 1927, c. 116).—The Province is divided into counties with a County Court for a county or group of counties. There are six County Court judges, appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has criminal jurisdiction, jurisdiction in contracts up to \$400 and jurisdiction in damage actions up to \$200. The Court has no jurisdiction where title to land is brought in question or the validity of any devise or bequest is disputed.

Probate Court (R.S.N.B. 1927, c. 120).—A Probate Court is established by provincial Act for each county and each Court is presided over by a judge appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The Court has jurisdiction over estates.

Juvenile Court (S. N.B. 1944, c. 44).—The Juvenile Courts Act provides for the establishment of a Juvenile Court for each place where the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act is in force. Two judges have been appointed, one for Saint John and one for Moncton. The Court has jurisdiction in juvenile matters under provincial statutes and is also a Juvenile Court under the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act.

Magistrates.—There are four classes of magistrates, namely, those appointed under the Local Courts Act (R.S.N.B. 1927, c. 121), the Towns Incorporation Act (R.S.N.B. 1927, c. 179), under city charters and under the Magistrates Act (S.N.B. 1942, c. 58). Magistrates have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction.

Justices and Commissioners Courts.—These Courts of limited jurisdiction are gradually being replaced by Magistrates Courts.

Quebec (R.S.Q. 1941, c. 15).—Court of King's Bench.—The Court consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of the Province of Quebec, and 11 other judges, all of whom are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has appellate jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters and has original jurisdiction in criminal cases.

Superior Court.—The Superior Court consists of a chief justice, an associate chief justice and 35 other judges, all of whom are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has general original jurisdiction in civil cases throughout the Province.

Magistrates.—Magistrates are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They exercise criminal jurisdiction and also civil jurisdiction in cases up to \$200.

Family Courts.—The Lieutenant-Governor in Council is authorized to establish Family Courts but a Court may be established only for a territory that includes a city with a population of over 25,000. The judges are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. Every Family Court is a Juvenile Court under the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act.

Sessions of the Peace.—The Courts are established and the judges appointed by provincial authority. Two judges are to reside at Montreal and at least one judge at the city of Quebec. The Courts have criminal jurisdiction only.